If no Highland fling, then what?

Well here I am in the Scottish Highlands! Unfortunately I haven’t had any chance meetings with a ruggedly handsome Ewan McGregor/young Sean Connery type while I’ve been out walking along all these little country lanes. >;sigh!<;

In the absence of that welcome distraction I think I’ll spend my afternoons exploring.

Top of the list:

– visiting a local distillery to learn allll about whisky! Cardhu and Glenfiddich come highly recommended.
– hopping along to the Speyside Cooperage where they make all the whiskey barrels! I don’t know why, but barrel making is exciting to me this week. Go with it!
– getting 9 holes of golf in… perhaps at a beautiful championship course, although something tells me they may not have clubs for hire. Not to worry, I can head to a less pro course like Garmouth.
– boosting my sweater collection with a visit to Johnston’s of Elgin, in.. er, Elgin. They are a local wool mill who have been pumping put beautiful woollen wonders since 1797. That makes them a mere 27 years younger than… Australia (as a British colony).

The mens sweaters look amazing! Very tempted to throw out alll my clothes and carry 5x sweaters instead. I think i’ll take one cable knit curry, one v-neck silver and…. maybe one delicious navy cardigan?? Never mind the budget.

I guess wool and whisky will be keeping me warm at night this week then? Ha!

PS: stole this photo from a Scottish tourist site. Unfortunately my photos are all trapped on my camera until I can get access to a laptop or computer. Sorry Scottish taxpayers! I gave a pound to the guide dogs collectors at Tescos yesterday in lieu of a licence fee. Shall we call that square?

This entry was published on September 10, 2012 at 3:15 PM. It’s filed under exploring!, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

